EUROPEAN RADIATION RESEARCH SOCIETY

- GENERAL ASSEMBLY -

PRAGUES 37th International Congress of Radiation Research

Council meeting was held on 27/08/2009 at 18h30 (Prague, Czech Republic)

Present:

ERRS Members:

Mohi Rezvani, Andrzej Wojcik, Louis de Saint-Georges, Jan sterreicher, Margareta Edgren, Philippe Voisin, Wolfgang Doerr, Lorenzo Manti, Katalin Lumniczky, George Jones, Christian Johannes, Elina Staaf, Ainars Bajinskis, Karl Brewens, Michal Hofer, Klaas Franken, Georgia Terzoudi, Anna Lankoff, Ewa Nowosillska, Anne Vral, Friedo Zolzer, Geza Safrani, Jan Osterreicher.

Non-members:

Massimo Pinto, Munika Kadhim, Ryonta Lee, Marco Durante, Otilia Nuta, Catarine Vest, Jolyon Hendry, Kazuo Sakai, Aneto Cheste

Excused: Synnöve Sundell-Bergman, Abderrafi Benotmane, Oleg Belyakov.

The President opens the assembly.

1. Approval of the agenda

Agenda of the ERRS General assembly (Prague August 2009)

- 1. Approval of the agenda
- 2. President's welcome address
- 3. Minutes of the last Council meeting and General Assembly (Tours 2008)
- 4. Composition of the Council (1st January 2010)
- 5. Honorary President election ?
- 6. Bacq and Alexander Award (2009)
- 7. Young Scientist Awards
- 8. Report of the Secretary-Treasurer Account for 2008
- 9. ERRS Member applications
 - Resignations exclusions
- 10. Agreement proposal on the organisation of the Annual Meeting of the European Radiation Research Society.

- 11. ERRS membership fee, agreement with national societies
- 12. ERRS Bylaws.
- 13. Website
- 14. Forthcoming meetings
- 15. Miscellaneous

The agenda is approved.

2. President's address

The President welcomes the members.

3. Minutes of the last General Assembly (TOURS - 2008)

The report of the Last General Assembly (TOURS - 2008) was available for reading on the ERRS website. It is approved as it is.

4. ERRS Composition of the Council (1st January 2010)

- Mohi Rezvani (UK) President (2009-2010, not re-electable)
- Mats Harms-Ringdahl (Sweden) Honorary President (2010-2012)
- Andrzej Wojcik (Poland) Vice President (2009-2010)
- Louis de Saint Georges (Belgium) Secretary-Treasurer (2009-2012, re-electable)
- Jan Ősterreicher (Czech Republic) (2009-2012 not re-electable)
- Synnöve Sundell-Bergman (Sweden) (2007-2010 not re-electable)
- Abderraffi Benotmane (Belgium) (2007-2010 re-electable)
- Philippe Voisin (France) (2008-2011 re-electable)
- Wolfgang Doerr (Germany) (2009-2012 re-electable)
- Lorenzo Manti (Italy) (2009-2012 re-electable)
- Oleg Belyakov (Fi) (2009-2012 re-electable)
- Katalin Lumniczky (Hu) (2009-2012 re-electable)
- George Jones (UK) (2009-2012 re-electable)

5. Honorary President

Mats Harms-Ringdahl is proposed as honorary president and accepted at unanimity

6. Bacq and Alexander Award.

The laureate 2009: Sisko Salomaa (Fl)

She presents his lecture on "European Low Dose Risk Research Strategy " the 27/08/2009 at 16h30

Bacq & Alexander Award for 2010:

The Secretary-Treasurer will contact the Council members by e-mail to solicit nominations.

7. Young Scientist Awards

As for each annual meeting awards have been available.

Travel grant awards (\in 500):K. BrehwensSEE. StaafSEYoung Scientist travel grant awards (\in 750)S. SorokinaRUA. BaloghHUP. MarozikRUA. VelissariouIE

F.R. Ferreira da Silva AU

The awards should be paid by the meeting organizers if their financial balance allows it and then deduced for the money to be returned to ERRS. As for any ERRS meeting half of the benefits if any are indeed to be paid to ERRS. The attention of future meeting organizers was called to give awards only to young scientists (younger tha 30-35 years old). Either the award winner or her/his boss must be an ERRS member.

8. Report of the Secretary-Treasurer

Report for 2008

Incomes	(Euro)	Expenses (1	Euro)
Membership fee	1061.62	Fee for IARR	400
Bank interest	0.32	Bank costs	62.32
	582.88	Ogone	119.79
		Administrative costs	107.33
<u>Total</u>	1644.82		689.44

Balance: 1644.82 - 689.44 = **955.38**

Bank accounts:

On 1/1/2008: 34.238,44 On 1/1/2009: 35.193,82

The treasurer report is accepted

The financial report of the Tours meeting (France) is beneficial. Half of the benefits, about 5000€, should be paid to ERRS.

Budget for 2009

Incomes (€)

Expenses (€)

Membership fee 2008	1.000,00	IARR fee	400,00
Bank interest	600,00	Varia	250,00
Credit from Tours meeting	5000.00	Ogone costs	130,68
		Awards for ERR 2009	0,00
Total	6.600,00	Total	780,68

The Treasurer report is accepted

9. ERRS Member applications - resignations

New members

SMINIA Peter (NL) DYUKINA Alsu (Ru) HANOVA Viera (Sk) HUBER Reinhard (De) JACQUET Paul (Be) TAGSCHERER Katrin (De) SOROKINA Svetlana (Ru) FERREIRA da SILVA Felipe (Austria) BREHWENS Karl (Sweden) JACOB Sophie (France) JOHANNES Christian (Germany) VELISSARIOU Angeliki (Ireland) STAAF Elina (Sweden) TURAI Istvan (Hungary)

Resignations

No resignation were presented.

10. Agreement proposal on the organization of the Annual Meeting of ERRS

A model of agreement between the council of ERRS and the organizers of the annual meeting is proposed. The text is accepted at the unanimity. It will be accessible on the ERRS website.

11. ERRS membership fee, agreement with national societies.

Cooperation with National Societies for Radiation Research

At the moment, the national Societies that have contracted an agreement with ERRS are:

- Ukrainian Society for Radiation Biology (Ukraine)
- Swedish Society of Radiation Biology (Sweden)
- Polish Society for Radiation Research (Poland)

- Society of Radiobiology and Crisis Management of the Czech Medical Association of Jan

- Evangelista Purkynje (Czech Republic)
- Italian Society for Radiation Research (Italy)
- German Gesellschaft für Biologische Strahlenforschung (Germany)

The lists of member of those societies were not communicated to ERRS. As the arrangement of reduced fees for members of co-operating societies did not have a noticeable effect on increasing the membership it was thought that they was no particular reason for keeping thereduced membership fee for those societies. The council propose to keep the same membership fee ($25 \in$) for all members.

The resolution is accepted at unanimity.

12. ERRS bylaws

It is suggested to all the members to read carefully the bylaws and report their comments to the secretary if they ever wish to make any amendments.

13. website.

Website of national societies having a link on the ERRS website will be asked to have an English version of their website.

14. Forthcoming meetings

38th Annual Meeting - ERR 2010, Stockholm, Sweden

Organizing committee:

Andrzej Wojcik (chair) Synnöve Sundell-Bergman Eva Forssell-Aronson Annelie E. Meijer Margareta Edgren Clare Bradshaw Hooshang Nikjoo Ingemar Näslund Siamak Haghdoost Gustaf Löwenhielm Thomas Helleday

A close collaboration is asked between the organizers and the ERRS Council.

<u>2011:</u>

14th International Congress of Radiation Research, Warszawa, Poland, August 27 - September 2, 2011

<u>2012:</u>

Salerno, Italy

15. Miscellaneous

ERRS member list

The members who have not paid for the last three years will be excluded. It is suggested to contact them before exclusion.

ERRS-EURADOS Newsletter

Thanks to Wolfgang Doerr who is the ERRS delegate in the Editorial Board where he acts as supervising editor

The Secretary-Treasurer

The President

L. de Saint-Georges

M. Rezvani