EUROPEAN RADIATION RESEARCH SOCIETY

- General Assembly 2011 -

Warsaw, Poland, 14th International Congress of Radiation Research

General Assembly was held on Wednesday 31/08/2011 at 14h00 Warsaw, (Poland)

Present:

ERRS Members:

Andrzej Wojcik; Mats Harms-Ringdahl; Louis de Saint-Georges; Philippe Voisin; Katalin Lumniczky; George Jones; Gabriel Pantelias; Klaas Franken; Matts Harm-Ringdahl; Anna Lankoff ; Mohi Rezvani; Georgia Terzoudi; Adamantia Fragopoulou; Georges Iliakis; Vasiliki Hatzi; Kadhim Munira; Halina Lisowska; Antonella Tabocchini; Balazs Madas.

Apologies:

Jan Osterreicher, Wolfgang Dörr.

The President opens the meeting.

1. Approval of the agenda

Agenda of the ERRS General assembly (Warsaw August 2011)

- 1. Approval of the agenda
- 2. President's welcome address
- 3. Minutes of the last Council meeting and General Assembly (Stockholm 2010)
- 4. Composition of the Council (1st January 2012)
- 5. Bacq and Alexander Award (2011)
- 6. Young Scientist Awards
- 7. Report of the Secretary-Treasurer
 - Account for 2010
- 8. ERRS Member applications
 - Resignations exclusions
- 9. ERRS Bylaws.
- 10. Website
- 11. Forthcoming meetings
- 12. Miscellaneous
- 13. Matters arising

The agenda is approved.

2. President's address

The President welcomes the members.

3. Minutes of the last General Assembly (Stockholm 2010)

The report of the Last General Assembly (Stockholm 2010) was available for reading on the ERRS website. It is approved as it is.

4. ERRS Composition of the Council (1st January 2012)

- Andrzej Wojcik (Sweden) President (2011-2012)

- Don Jones (UK) Vice-President (2009-2012 re-electable)
- Mats Harms-Ringdahl (Sweden) Honorary President (2010-2012)
- Louis de Saint Georges (Belgium) Secretary-Treasurer (2009-2012, re-electable)
- Jan Ősterreicher (Czech Republic) (2009-2012 not re-electable)
- Philippe Voisin (France) (2012-2015 not re-electable)
- Abderraffi Benotmane (Belgium) (2011-2014 not-electable)
- Kerstin Kecke Elmroth (Sweden) (2011-2014 re-electable)
- Wolfgang Doerr (Germany) 2009-2012 re-electable)
- Lorenzo Manti (Italy) (2009-2012 re-electable)
- Klaas Franken (NL) (2011-2014 re-electable)
- Gabriel Pantelias (Gr) (2011-2014 re-electable)
- Katalin Lumniczky (Hungary) (2009-2012 re-electable)

Philippe Voisin has been re-elected by the Council

5. Bacq and Alexander Award.

The laureate 2011: Penny Jeggo

She presents her lecture on :

"Revealing the complexity of DNA double strand break repair; the process, the lesion and the environment" on Wednesday 31-08-2011 at 16h45

Bacq & Alexander Award for 2012:

The Secretary-Treasurer will contact the Council members by e-mail to solicit nominations.

6. Young Scientist awards

As for each annual meeting, awards (500 \in) have been available.

Acheva Anna Rombouts Charlotte Yentrapalli Venkata Borst Gerben Fragopoulou Adamantia Foutouhi Asal 475 € (membership fee 2011 deduced) Somedkova Alexandra Staaf Elina Dyukina Alsu Hovingh Suzanna

Hovingh Suzanna withdraw her application (award is recovered)

<u>Maimets Martti</u> and <u>Van de Veen Sonja</u> obtained the highest score from the jury but their applications were cancelled because they were already granted by the Dutch Radiation Research Society

It is suggested that the next call for ERRS travel awards should contain the information that an awardee should not receive two awards supporting her/his participation in the ERRS meeting. In order to be eligible for the award the applicant must have paid her/his ERRS membership fee.

It is noted that Dyukina Alsu and Acheva Anna received the travel award also in 2010.

7. Report of the Secretary-Treasurer

Report for 2010

Incomes (Euro)		Expenses (Euro)	
Membership fee	2201,13	Fee for IARR	400
Bank interest	534,42	Bank costs	45,69
		Ogone	130.68
		Administrative costs	212,62
		IRSN award	500
Total	2735,55		1304,59

Balance: 2735,55 - 1304,59 = + 1430,96

Bank accounts:

On 1/1/2010: 40.813,66 On 1/1/2011: 42.244,62

The treasurer report is accepted by the General Assembly.

The financial report of the Prague meeting is beneficial: 200 € have been paid to ERRS in 2011

Budget for 2011

Incomes (€)

Expenses (€)

Membership fee 2010	2.000,00	IARR fee	400,00
Bank interest	530,09	Varia	200,00
Credit from Prague meeting	200,00	Ogone costs	130,68
		Awards for ERR 2011	5000,00
Total	2.730,09	Total	5.734,68

The Treasurer report is accepted

8. ERRS Member applications - resignations

Applications: new applications: 10

Tchokossa Fragopoulou Adamantia Rombouts Charlotte Shakeri Manesh Fotouhi Asal Maimetts Martti Somsedikova Alexandra Van Der Veen Sonja Borst Belyakov Oleg

Resignations: 1

G.J. Köteles

Retired: 5

Barendsen
Weiss
Feinendegem
Natarajan

Hidvegi

Exclusions: 15

BORISSOVA	Elena
DAM	Annamari
DEFRESNE	Marie-Paule
MARTIN	Michele
MEIJER	Annelie
MICHAEL	B.D.
RAMESH	Yentrapalli
SABATIER	Laure
SANDERSON	Ruth
SKARDOVA	IILDIKO
SPOTHEIM-MAURIZ	Μ
STRATFORD	I.J.

SZURKOAgnieszkaWONDERGEMJanYURIEVNAStrelkova Irina

According to the council decision the members not having regularized the membership fees the last three years were contacted and noticed before their withdrawal.

The actual numbers of ERRS members is 128 from 22 different countries. 78 members are OK with membership fee

9. ERRS bylaws

At the Council meeting in Pragues, it was suggested to all the members to read carefully the bylaws and report their comments to the secretary if they ever wish to make any amendments. No comment were sent to the secretariat about the bylaws. It is concluded that for now the text is not modified.

10. website.

No Finish, Irish, Greek, Spanish societies ?

11. Forthcoming meetings

<u>2012</u>

39 th International Congress of Radiation Research, Vitri sul Mare, Italy. October 15-19,2012

Organizing committee:

A close collaboration is asked between the organizers and the ERRS Council.

<u>2013-2014:</u>

40th Annual meeting – ERR2013 Dublin, Ireland 41th Annual meeting: Creta, Greece, or The Neth erlands are proposed for 2014.

12. Miscellaneous

ERRS-EURADOS Newsletter

Thanks to Wolfgang Doerr who is the ERRS delegate in the Editorial Board where he acts as supervising editor

Eurados is expecting contributions from ERRS members who were asked to write reports of meetings, EU projects, results etc. and submit to Wolfgang Doerr.

13. Matters arising

None

The Secretary-Treasurer

The President

Andreg: Wden

L. de Saint-Georges

A. Wojcik